Doctor of Business Administration

The Doctor of Business Administration (DBA) is a professional doctorate which provides a structured programme of study through the delivery of taught modules, closely integrated with an individual’s professional career development.

Key Facts

Course Length:
3 years

UWTSD London
Contact Email:
Language Choice

The programme has two parts, and is composed of taught modules and a doctoral-level work-based research project. The element of reflection on professional practice distinguishes the professional doctorate from the award of a PhD.

Part One consists of taught modules, which prepare candidates for the independent practice-based research project of Part Two. During the first year the taught modules are delivered at the rate of two modules each term.

Year One: Part 1

Compulsory modules:

  • Approaches to Research and Academic Communication
  • Qualitative Research Methods
  • Quantitative Research Methods

Elective modules (Three modules from the list below):

  • Visions for the Future – Theoretical Perspectives on Management
  • Strategic Change and Organisations
  • Managing in Complex Environments: Strategies, Insights and Solutions
  • Entrepreneurial Perspectives

Year Two/Three: Part 2

  • Preparing for Doctoral Research
  • Research Dissertation

It is widely recognised as the pinnacle of qualifications in the world of business and management. This DBA programme is designed to meet the needs of professionals working in Business Administration and Management related areas in the UK and overseas.

The normal minimum entrance requirement for applicants for candidature for professional doctorates is a master’s degree relevant to the doctoral programme awarded by a UK or other recognised University or higher education institution, or by the Council for National Academic Awards (CNAA).

Proficiency in English of candidates whose first language is not English is at or exceeding an average IELTS score (or equivalent in any other approved test) of 6.5 and not less than 5.5 in any component at entry.


  • £8,250 per year (Effective from October 2015 intake)


  • £500 (reduction of the first year fees) for applicants with Distinction in the qualifying award